Foundation Comparison Round 1

I’ve been meaning to go through my small stash of foundations/BB creams and compare them to each other.  I’m slowly getting around to it!  It’s been a crazyyyy few months between moving and going to Jamaica/getting married.  At any rate I’m finally getting around to starting it. HAHA.  I have four today that I was playing around with.

IMG_1797

I’ve never been very good at foundation matching.  I got the MUFE Mat Velvet+ and the UD Naked skin matched off of the Sephora match.  However, I’m not quite sure they are very close matches.  Typical Sephora.  I picked out the Mizon BB (only one shade) and the Maybelline BB because I was going to Jamaica and wanted to have a lighter foundation for the heat.  I’m not quite sold that they are good matches either.

MUFE mat velvet – I have this in shade 30 aka Porcelain.  It says it is a match for those with medium skin and beige undertones.  In the winter this foundation and I do not get along because my skin gets very dry.  It works decent for the summer.  I’m not in love with it, but, I don’t hate it.  This was a repurchase though.

Mizon BB cream – I love all that this BB cream can do for you!  Since it is Asian it has fantastic sunscreen coverage.  It also has pretty good coverage in general – similar to a foundation.  As you can see it has snail extract in it which is helpful for fighting acne and repairing the skin.  Fantastic! Sign me up.  However, this one only comes in one shade.  Soooooo, you need to be NC15 or lighter to pull this off.  I’m not 100% what my skin tone is but I’m around 10-20 depending on the season and what not.  I do think this pulls a little light/beige on me though.

Maybelline BB – so American BBs are just glorified tinted moisturizers.  This one claims to do a lot for your skin, but, I don’t really think it does.  I got it in the light, but, man when it comes out of that tube it is bright orange I swear!  It’s crazy.  It is sooo watery and they were not lying about the sheer tint.  I feel like it covers nothing and gives me an oompa loompa tint.  Not cool. Not cool at all!

UD Naked Skin – I have this in shade 3.5.  It is considered a light shade for those who are beige with slight pink undertones.  It’s fairly comparable to the MUFE on the Sephora match finder.  It provides a nice sheer, skin like finish and glides on.  It doesn’t cover a lot, so if your acne is showing, this is probably not for you!  Oil isn’t controlled that great either and sometimes it highlights dry patches.  I did like it and it was a repurchase, however, I’m not sure it’s the right color.  Ahh well.  I’ve moved on to bigger and better things!

4 hand dots

Here you can see all 4 of them on my hand.  I told you that Maybelline one was ORANGE!!  It is pretty obvious in this picture that the Mizon one is fairly beige.  You can also see that the UD and Maybelline are quite runny while the MUFE and Mizon are much thicker.  Below they are all rubbed in.  On my hand none of them really blend THAT well, the Naked Skin might be the best match, but, then again it’s just my hand….gotta compare to my face and neck!

4 hand rubbed in

Get ready to see some pretty rough looking skin.  I may be in my mid-twenties but, I have the skin of a teenager!  It SUCKS so bad.  ugh.

4 on faceIt’s hard to say if any of them really match that great.  Without any blending it looks like the Naked Skin and Maybelline are out for sure – quite orangey compared to my skin.  MUFE is maybe ok and the Mizon looks quite light.  Hmph.

Apparently I didn’t take very good pictures of them when I blended them in.  So i’ll continue that another day.  I find it hard to compare with just a small swatch on my neck though.  I feel as if I need a half face or at least a large section to see if it blends nicely or not.  At least now I know that two of them are out for sure! And my beautiful Mizon cream is probably going to be a winter foundation.

~EP

Leave a comment